Pennal Johnson Struts With New Album

Pennal Johnson: Cissy StrutChicago bassist Pennal Johnson (PJ) combines jazz, funk, adult contemporary and rock and roll on his album, Cissy Strut.

The bassist for The Chicago All-City Jazz Band from 1984-87, Johnson began playing bass at age 8. During his career, he has performed with artists like Andre and Sandra Crouch, Kurt Carr and Abraham Laboriel.

Johnson is also working as part of his group, P.J. and Soul.

Check out his chops on the album:

And at this year’s winter NAMM on a five-string Wyn bass:

Cissy Strut is available on CD and digital download.

Cissy Strut Track List:

  1. Bounce
  2. Cissy Strut
  3. Come Together
  4. Nasty Funk
  5. Pickup Groove
  6. Smooth Lover
  7. Sound Check Funk
  8. Wake Up

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts