Bullet For My Valentine Releases Fifth Album, Touring with New Bassist

Bullet For My Valentine: VenomWelsh metal band Bullet For My Valentine has released its fifth studio album, Venom. Frontman Matt Tuck handled bass on the record, which is the group’s first following the departure of longtime bassist Jason “Jay” James.

The album deliberately shies away from any melodic or pop sounds, Tuck said. “We wanted to keep this as dark as possible. It was very important that the album sounded intense. That’s what our fans loved the most since day one.”

Here’s a taste of what he means on “You Want a Battle? (Here’s a War)”:

Since the album’s recording, the group has added a new bassist to its lineup, Welsh musician Jamie Mathias, who also handles background vocals and is touring with the band.

Check out BFMV’s remaining U.S. tour dates with Slipknot and Lamb of God:

August 14Noblesville, INKlipsch Music Center
August 15Tinley Park, ILFirst Midwest Bank Amphitheatre
August 16 St. Louis, MOHollywood Amphitheatre
August 19Morrison, CORed Rocks Amphitheatre
August 21West Valley City, UTUSANA Amphitheatre
August 24Vancouver, BCRogers Arena
August 26Concord, CAConcord Pavilion
August 28Las Vegas, NVMGM Resort Festival Lot
August 29Phoenix, AZAk-Chin Pavilion
August 30Albuquerque, NMIsleta Amphitheater
September 2Austin, TXAustin 360 Amphitheater
September 4The Woodlands, TXCynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion
September 5Dallas, TXGexa Energy Pavilion

Venom is available on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Venom Track List:

  1. V
  2. No Way Out
  3. Army of Noise
  4. Worthless
  5. You Want A Battle? (Here’s A War)
  6. Broken
  7. Venom
  8. Harder the Heart
  9. Skin
  10. Hell or High Water
  11. Pariah
  12. Playing God
  13. Run For Your Life
  14. In Loving Memory
  15. Raising Hell

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts