Rivers of Nihil Releases Second Album

Rivers of Nihil: MonarchyDeath metal band Rivers of Nihil has released its sophomore effort, Monarchy.

The album came together after extensive touring following the Pennsylvania-based band’s debut album and the addition of several new members. It also marked a different recording method for the band, which, instead of heading directly into the studio to record, worked on songs at guitarist and primary songwriter Brody Uttley’s home studio, where they tracked all the guitars and bass.

Bassist Adam Biggs said the method gave the band “all the control we could ask for, as well as the time we needed to create the very lush and layered sound for the guitars that Brody envisioned for the record.”

Here’s an example of the band’s result — “Sand Baptism” from Monarchy:

Monarchy is available on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Monarchy Track List:

  1. Heirless
  2. Perpetual Growth Machine
  3. Reign of Dreams
  4. Sand Baptism
  5. Ancestral, I
  6. Dehydrate
  7. Monarchy
  8. Terrestria II: Thrive
  9. Circles in the Sky
  10. Suntold

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts