the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Christian McBride on Latest Orrin Evans Album

Orrin Evans: The Evolution of OneselfJazz pianist/composer Orrin Evans has teamed with Grammy-winning virtuoso bassist Christian McBride on his latest record, The Evolution of Oneself.

Evans says the album, recorded live in the studio, directly acknowledges things and people that opened his eyes and made him evolve as a person and artist. It also includes surprising elements, such as three versions of the jazz standard “All the Things You Are,” and a jazz take the country standard “Wildwood Flower.”

Evans’ trio for the record is rounded out by drummer Karriem Riggins, and Marvin Sewell contributes guitar work for “Wildwood Flower.”

Here’s a little taste of the evolution of The Evolution of Oneself:

The Evolution of Oneself is available on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

The Evolution of Oneself Track List:

  1. All the Things You Are (Prelude)
  2. For Miles
  3. Genesis I (Interlude)
  4. Autumn Leaves
  5. Wildwood Flower
  6. Sweet Sid
  7. Genesis II (Interlude)
  8. Jewels & Baby Yaz
  9. Iz Beatdown Time
  10. Spot It You Got It
  11. Genesis III (Interlude)
  12. Feb. 13th
  13. A Secret Place
  14. Ruby Red
  15. Tsagli’s Lean
  16. Professor Farworthy
  17. All the Things You Are (Springtime Feathers)
  18. All the Things You Are

Get the No Treble Daily Update in your inbox

Get the latest from No Treble in your inbox every morning.

Related topics:

Share your thoughts