Bassists Converge on Metal Allegiance Album

Metal Allegiance (Self Titled Album)Metal Allegiance’s self-titled debut album, featuring some prominent metal bassists, has arrived. The core group includes Megadeth bassist David Ellefson and songwriter/bassist Mark Menghi, drummer Mike Portnoy (Dream Theater, The Winery Dogs) and guitarist Alex Skolnick (Testament).

The metal supergroup pulled in some bass heavyweights for a little extra thunder. Rex Brown (Pantera/Kill Devil Hill) appears on the bass-heavy track “Let Darkness Fall,” which also features Ellefson and Menghi, and has Mastodon vocalist/bassist Troy Sanders singing lead:

Then, the track “Wait Until Tomorrow,” brings in King’s X vocalist/bassist dUg Pinnick to share lead vocals.

Metal Allegiance is available in a CD/DVD edition, including an all-star cover of Ronnie James Dio’s “We Rock” and a 45-minute “making of” feature. The album is also available as a vinyl double album and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Metal Allegiance Track Listing:

  1. Gift of Pain (feat. D. Randall Blythe)
  2. Let Darkness Fall (feat. Troy Sanders)
  3. Dying Song (feat. Philip H. Anselmo)
  4. Can’t Kill the Devil (feat. Chuck Billy)
  5. Scars (feat. Mark Osegueda & Cristina Scabbia)
  6. Destination: Nowhere (feat. Matthew K. Heafy)
  7. Wait Until Tomorrow (feat. Dug Pinnick & Jamey Jasta)
  8. Triangulum (I. Creation II. Evolution III. Destruction)
  9. Pledge of Allegiance (feat. Mark Osegueda) (Deluxe Version)
  10. We Rock (feat. Mark Osegueda, Chris Jericho, Tim “Ripper” Owens, Alissa White-Gluz, Chuck Billy & Steve “Zetro” Souza) [Bonus Track]

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts