the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Ex-Hanoi Rocks Bassist Collaborates with Former Bandmate on New Album

Michael Monroe: Blackout StatesSami Yaffa, onetime bassist for the Finnish band Hanoi Rocks and the New York Dolls, holds down the low end on former Hanoi Rocks frontman Michael Monroe’s latest solo effort, Blackout States.

The album “has all the ingredients of a perfect rock‘n’roll record – strong melodic songs with great meaningful lyrics that defy all clichés, delivered with a punky, ballsy attitude by a killer band,” Monroe said.

Check out “Old King’s Road” from the new album to see what you think of his description of the music:

Blackout States is available on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Blackout States Track List:

  1. This Ain’t No Love Song
  2. Old King’s Road
  3. Goin’ Down With the Ship
  4. Keep Your Eye on You
  5. The Bastard’s Bash
  6. Good Old Bad Days
  7. R.L.F.
  8. Blackout States
  9. Under the Northern Lights
  10. Permanent Youth
  11. Dead Hearts on Denmark Street
  12. Six Feet in the Ground
  13. Walk Away