the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Jon Burr Quintet Releases “Very Good Year”

Jon Burr Quintet: Very Good YearJazz double bassist Jon Burr and his eponymous quintet have released the hard bop album Very Good Year.

The record from the group led by Burr (Horace Silver, Stan Getz, Chet Baker, Art Farmer, Stephane Grappelli, Tony Bennett, The Manhattan Jazz Quintet) is getting great notices, with Jazz Inside magazine saying, “Jon Burr is a fabulous leader, composer and, especially with this recording, arranger. As a fan one should have a field day listening for all the clever musical signposts and touchstones he includes in each track.”

Check out the sound on “Cherry Keys”:

Very Good Year is available on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Very Good Year Track List:

  1. All the Things You Ate
  2. Soul Cry
  3. Cherry Keys
  4. Don’t You Worry About a Thing
  5. Fried Blues
  6. Lovely Day
  7. Always Let Me Go
  8. Perowsky Line
  9. It Was a Very Good Year
  10. Break Out the Blues
  11. Savoy Fare
  12. Out of This World

Get the No Treble Daily Update in your inbox

Get the latest from No Treble in your inbox every morning.

Related topics:

Share your thoughts