Three John Abercrombie Quartet Records Re-Released in One Package

John Abercrombie Quartet

Some of prolific Czech-born jazz double bassist George Mraz’s work from the late 1970s into 1980 with the John Abercrombie Quartet has been released by ECM records as part of a three-CD set in its Old & New Masters series called The First Quartet, which combines the albums Arcade, Abercrombie Quartet and M.

Mraz performed on the albums in the quartet, which included Abercrombie on guitar and mandolin, Richie Beirach on piano and Peter Donald on drums. The album M features the Mraz composition “Pebbles.”

Each of the albums were remastered from original analog sources for the set.

The First Quartet is available on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

The First Quartet Track List:

Disc 1 (Arcade):

  1. Arcade
  2. Nightlake
  3. Paramour
  4. Neptune
  5. Alchemy

Disc 2 (Abercrombie Quartet):

  1. Blue Wolf
  2. Dear Rain
  3. Stray
  4. Madagascar
  5. Riddles
  6. Foolish Dog

Disc 3 (M):

  1. Boat Song
  2. M
  3. What are the Rules
  4. Flashback
  5. To Be
  6. Veils
  7. Pebbles

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts