the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Tortoise Returns with “The Catastrophist”

Tortoise: The CatastrophistThe Catastrophist is the first release from the quintet Tortoise in seven years.

The band, which features Doug McCombs (Eleventh Dream Day, Brokeback) on bass, creates music that’s hard to categorize, and this time out, the primarily instrumental group called in vocalists for a cover of David Essex’s 1970s hit, “Rock On” as well as the ballad, “Yonder Blue.”

Check out the “Rock On” cover:

But, by and large, instrumental pieces like “Gesceap” continue to rule for Tortoise:

The Catastrophist is available on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

The Catastrophist Track List:

  1. The Catastrophist
  2. Ox Duke
  3. Rock On
  4. Gopher Island
  5. Shake Hands With Danger
  6. The Clearing Fills
  7. Gesceap
  8. Hot Coffee
  9. Yonder Blue
  10. Tesseract
  11. At Odds With Logic