Sister Hazel Goes Country on Latest Album

Sister Hazel: Lighter in the DarkAlt-rock band Sister Hazel has shifted musical gears a bit, to country, with its ninth album, Lighter in the Dark.

The band, which formed in Gainesville, Florida, includes Jett Beres on bass. Beres also has a co-production credit on Lighter in the Dark album closer, “Ten Candle Days,” which he also sang. Nashville producer Chip Matthews produced the album as a whole.

On the band’s website, Beres also remembers the first time he heard guitarist/singer/songwriter Andrew Copeland’s lyric, “I’m just a kid from Gainesville watching Petty with my lighter in the dark,” for his song “Something To Believe In.” “It gave me chills,” Beres said. “It’s who we were. It’s who we still are. It’s the beauty of music.”

Here’s a little more about the song:

Lighter in the Dark is available on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Lighter in the Dark Track List:

  1. Fall Off the Map
  2. That Kind of Beautiful
  3. Karaoke Song (feat. Darius Rucker)
  4. Something to Believe In
  5. Kiss Me Without Whiskey
  6. Almost Broken (feat. Jillian Jacqueline)
  7. Take It With Me
  8. We Got It All Tonight
  9. Danger Is Real
  10. Prettiest Girl at the Dance
  11. Thoroughbred Heart
  12. Run Highway Run
  13. Back to Me
  14. Ten Candle Days

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts