Hiromi Trio Again Showcases Anthony Jackson’s Talents

Hiromi Trio: SparkProlific bassist Anthony Jackson, particularly well known for his contrabass playing, has again collaborated with Japanese pianist/composer Hiromi and drummer Simon Phillips on Hiromi’s 10th album, Spark.

The trio has played and recorded together for five years, with Spark being its fourth album. The collaboration may last for awhile, according to Jackson (Paul Simon, Steely Dan, Chick Corea, The O’Jays). “There’s no limit. It could certainly go on. It will go on as long as Hiromi wants it to,” he said.

Working within the trio brings out the best in all three players, Jackson said. “The three of us think the same way: if it doesn’t sound special, it won’t get released,” he added, when talking about how the trio approaches its music.

Hear more from Jackson, Phillips and Hiromi:

Spark is available on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Spark Track List:

  1. Spark
  2. In a Trance
  3. Take Me Away
  4. Wonderland
  5. Indulgence
  6. Dilemma
  7. What Will Be, Will Be
  8. Wake Up and Dream
  9. All’s Well

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts