Haken Releases “Affinity”

Haken: AffinityProgressive metal band Haken has released its fourth full-length studio album, Affinity.

While bassist Conner Green appeared on the band’s 2014 EP Restoration, Affinity marks his first album effort with the band. Green took over bass duties with Thomas MacLean’s 2013 departure from the group.

The Prog Report has already given the album high marks, calling the track “The Architect” the album’s highlight. It also draws attention to Green’s work on the track. “We also get to enjoy new bassist Conner Green’s tastefulness and skill with a great bass solo which transitions into a groovy Cynic-fusion-style interaction between the bass and guitars.”

But if you want even more from Green, check out his bass play-through of the Affinity track “Initiate”:

Affinity is available on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Affinity Track List:

Disc One:

  1. Affinity.exe
  2. Initiate
  3. 1985
  4. Lapse
  5. The Architect
  6. Earthrise
  7. Red Giant
  8. The Endless Knot
  9. Bound by Gravity

Disc Two:

  1. Affinity.exe
  2. Initiate (Instrumental Version)
  3. 1985 (Instrumental Version)
  4. Lapse (Instrumental Version)
  5. The Architect (Instrumental Version)
  6. Earthrise (Instrumental Version)
  7. Red Giant (Instrumental Version)
  8. The Endless Knot (Instrumental Version)
  9. Bound by Gravity (Instrumental Version)

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts