E Street Band Bassist Tallent Makes Solo Debut

Garry Tallent: Break TimeGarry Tallent, the longtime bassist for Bruce Springsteen’s E Street Band, has released his first solo album, Break Time.

However, on this record, Tallent handles the guitar work, vocals, percussion, and “various silly noises.” The bassist this time around is none other than Dave Roe, the prolific Nashville bassist known for working the legendary Johnny Cash. Roe plays standup bass on the album.

Tallent and his band recorded the album live to 8-track tape at Pan American Sound in Nashville. “They’re my songs,” Tallent tells backstreets.com, “and I chose the ones that fit the mold of the album that I was trying to do, which is my tribute to the ’50s. That’s always been my favorite era of music.”

Check out “Stay Away”:

Break Time is available on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Break Time Track List:

  1. Ooh La La
  2. Bayou Love
  3. Tell ’Em I’m Broke
  4. Today’s the Day
  5. Promise to My Heart
  6. I Love ’Em All
  7. Charlene
  8. Ants in Her Pants
  9. Say It Out Loud
  10. If Love Would Change Your Mind
  11. Stay Away (featuring Kristi Rose)
  12. Why Do You Do Me Like That

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts