Budgie Three-Album Set Released

Budgie: The MCA Albums: 1973-1975Welsh hard rockers Budgie were often thought of as something of a cross between Rush and Black Sabbath. However, the trio, led by bassist/vocalist Burke Shelley, never hit it as big. But, in later years, bands Metallica, Iron Maiden and Megadeth cited the group as an influence.

For fans, or people who haven’t yet encountered the group, particularly in its 1970s heyday, there’s now the three-album set: The MCA Albums: 1973-1975. The set features three remastered albums: Never Turn Your Back On A Friend, In For The Kill and Bandolier, as well as a booklet including a new essay on the band, as well as photos and band information.

Here’s a little taste of Budgie, via songs from Never Turn Your Back On A Friend and Bandolier – “Breadfan” (first video) and “Who Do You Want for Your Love?” (second video):

The MCA Albums: 1973-1975 is available on CD and digital download.

The MCA Albums: 1973-1975 Track List:

Disc 1 – Never Turn Your Back on a Friend:

  1. Breadfan
  2. Baby Please Don’t Go
  3. You Know I’ll Always Love You
  4. You’re The Biggest Thing Since Powdered Milk
  5. In The Grip Of A Tyrefitter’s Hand
  6. Riding My Nightmare
  7. Parents

Disc 2 – In for the Kill:

  1. In For The Kill
  2. Crash Course In Brain Surgery
  3. Wondering What Everyone Knows
  4. Zoom Club
  5. Hammer And Tongs
  6. Running From My Soul
  7. Living On Your Own

Disc 3 – Bandolier:

  1. Breaking All The House Rules And Learning All The House Rules
  2. Slipaway
  3. Who Do You Want For Your Love?
  4. I Can’t See My Feelings
  5. I Ain’t No Mountain
  6. Napoleon Bona – Part One
  7. Napoleon Bona – Part Two

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. wow! what a great band. i only knew the metallica version of ‘breadfan’, but the original blows my mind. i need that album!!! thanx for the hot tip. :)