Marc Ribot Teams With Jamaaladeen Tacuma on Live Album

The Young Philadelphians: Live In TokyoDistinctive and prolific jazz bassist Jamaaladeen Tacuma, known for his extensive solo and group work, including a long tenure in Ornette Coleman’s Prime Time band, is also part of a group that draws upon that Coleman band — Marc Ribot & The Young Philadelphians, which has released a live album recorded in 2014, The Young Philadelphians Live In Tokyo.

The band, which also focuses on classic Philly soul, includes guitarists Ribot and Mary Halvorson, as well as drummer G. Calvin Weston, who, like Tacuma, is both a Prime Time band vet and Philadelphian.

Check out the group in action in Tokyo in 2014:

The Young Philadelphians Live in Tokyo is available on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

The Young Philadelphians Live In Tokyo Track List:

  1. Love Epidemic
  2. Love TKO
  3. Fly, Robin, Fly
  4. TSOP (The Sound of Philadelphia)
  5. Love Rollercoaster
  6. Do It Anyway You Want
  7. The Hustle

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts

  1. Hans

    Jamaladeen is a regular beast on bass, but in this band it’s something else..
    Is it just me or is this band really playing completely out of time and out of tune? Or is it just the bad recording?