Fred Hersch Trio Offers Up Live Recording

The Fred Hersch Trio: Sunday Night at the VanguardThe Fred Hersch Trio, featuring John Hébert on bass, has released the live album, Sunday Night at the Vanguard, which All About Jazz says may be the trio’s best recording yet.

The Vanguard refers to the Village Vanguard, a legendary New York City jazz club that has become a second home for the trio.

Sunday Night at the Vanguard sees the trio, which includes Eric McPherson on drums, playing everything from Hersch originals, to a lesser-known Rogers & Hammerstein tune, to The Beatles’ “For No One.”

And throughout it all Hébert is there. Several years ago, pianist/composer Hersch commented on Hébert as a player. “John has a very springy time feel; it’s easy to play with him. Having a bassist with that kind of forward motion and great wood sound is attractive to me. He doesn’t strong-arm the music. He shows up to play; he’s down for whatever happens. I give John a lot of space and he always comes up with something interesting.”

Sunday Night at the Vanguard is available on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Sunday Night at the Vanguard Track List:

  1. A Cockeyed Optimist
  2. Serpentine
  3. The Optimum Thing
  4. Calligram
  5. Blackwing Palomino
  6. For No One
  7. Everybody’s Song But My Own
  8. The Peacocks
  9. We See
  10. Encore: Valentine

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts