STS9 Goes Universal on Latest Album

STS9: The Universe InsideElectronica/jam band Sound Tribe Sector 9 (STS9) has released The Universe Inside, which the band says reflects the messages of the golden records that traveled on NASA’s Voyager 1 and Voyager 2 missions.

According to the band, with Alana Rocklin on bass, the album is about identity “and the magical truth of who we are, where we’re going, and our place in the Universe. It says we are one, made of stardust and the forces of nature that evolved over billions of years. Connected by the sun, moon and stars, we are the living, breathing conscience of the Universe.”

As the band notes, the golden record messages never talked about nations or wars, but it did offer welcomes in 59 languages.

The track “Supercluster” even samples radio transmissions from the ninth Space Shuttle (STS) mission (it was the sixth mission of the Space Shuttle Columbia, back in 1983):

Also check out “Give & Take”:

The Universe Inside is available on Amazon MP3 and iTunes.

iTunes and Amazon MP3.

The Universe Inside Track List:

  1. Supercluster
  2. Out of This World
  3. Get Loud
  4. Light Years
  5. Totem
  6. World Go Round
  7. Give & Take
  8. Elsewhere
  9. Sun, Moon & Stars
  10. New Dawn, New Day
  11. Worry No More
  12. Common Descent
  13. The Universe Inside

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts