The Who Releases “Maximum A’s and B’s”

The Who: Maximum A's and B'sMuch of John Entwistle’s best bass work is showcased in a new collection from The Who. Maximum A’s and B’s compiles the band’s complete singles discography into a five-disc box set.

The collection has 86 tracks from their time with four labels: Brunswick, Reaction, Track, and Polydor. It begins with songs they released as The High Numbers (“Zoot Suit” and “I’m The Face”) before tracking their history with hits like “My Generation,” “Pinball Wizard,” “Won’t Get Fooled Again,” and more.

The compilation comes all the way up to 2014’s “Be Lucky,” which features Pino Palladino on bass.

Maximum A’s and B’s is available now on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Maximum A’s and B’s Track List:

Disc 1:

  1. Zoot Suit
  2. I’m the Face
  3. I Can’t Explain
  4. Bald Headed Woman
  5. Anyway, Anyhow, Anywhere
  6. Daddy Rolling Stone
  7. My Generation
  8. Shout and Shimmy
  9. Circles (AKA ‘Instant Party’)
  10. Instant Party Mixture
  11. A Legal Matter
  12. The Kids Are Aright
  13. The Ox
  14. La – La
  15. The Good’s Gone

Disc 2:

  1. Substitute
  2. Circles
  3. Waltz For A Pig
  4. I’m A Boy
  5. In The City
  6. Disguises
  7. Batman
  8. Bucket T
  9. Barbara Ann
  10. Happy Jack
  11. I’ve Been Away
  12. Pictures Of Lily
  13. Doctor, Doctor
  14. The Last Time
  15. Under My Thumb
  16. I Can See For Miles
  17. Someone’s Coming
  18. Dogs
  19. Call Me Lightning
  20. Magic Bus
  21. Dr Jekyll & Mr. Hyde

Disc 3:

  1. Pinball Wizard
  2. Dogs Part Two
  3. The Seeker
  4. Here For More
  5. Summertime Blues
  6. Heaven And Hell
  7. See Me Feel Me / Listening To You
  8. Overture From Tommy
  9. Christmas
  10. I’m Free
  11. Won’t Get Fooled Again
  12. Don’t Know Myself
  13. Let’s See Action
  14. When I Was A Boy
  15. Join Together
  16. Baby Don’t You Do It
  17. Relay
  18. Wasp Man

Disc 4:

  1. 5:15
  2. Water
  3. Listening To You / See Me Feel Me (Soundtrack Version)
  4. Overture (Soundtrack Version)
  5. Squeeze Box
  6. Success Story
  7. Who Are You
  8. Had Enough
  9. Long Live Rock
  10. My Wife (Live)
  11. 5:15 (Soundtrack Version)
  12. I’m One (Soundtrack Version)
  13. You Better You Bet
  14. The Quiet One
  15. Don’t Let Go The Coat
  16. You

Disc 5:

  1. Athena
  2. A Man Is A Man
  3. Eminence Front
  4. It’s Your Turn
  5. Twist And Shout (Live)
  6. I Can’t Explain (Live)
  7. Bony Maronie (Live)
  8. Join Together (Live)
  9. I Can See For Miles (Live)
  10. Behind Blue Eyes (Live)
  11. Real Good Looking Boy
  12. Old Red Wine
  13. Wire & Glass EP – Side A (Sound Round, Pick Up The Peace, Endless Wire, We Got A Hit, They Made My Dream Come True)
  14. Wire & Glass EP – Side B – Mirror Door
  15. Be Lucky
  16. I Can’t Explain (2014 Stereo remix)

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts