Rhonda Smith Anchors Jeff Beck’s Live at the Hollywood Bowl

Jeff Beck: Live at the Hollywood BowlFans of blues and rock will want to check out Jeff Beck’s latest DVD, Live at the Hollywood Bowl. Recorded in the summer of 2016, the live concert featured songs from the guitar god’s entire career, as far back as The Yardbirds right up to his latest release, Loud Hailer. It also features a plethora of special guest artists including Billy F. Gibbons, Buddy Guy, Jimmy Hall, Jan Hammer, Beth Hart, and Steven Tyler.

Longtime collaborator Rhonda Smith anchors the entire show with bass lines that range from heavy grinds to bubbly shuffles. The concert culminates with a rousing version of Prince’s “Purple Rain” with all of the guests joining in the jam. Smith, of course, played with the Purple One for nearly a decade.

Live at the Hollywood Bowl is available now in a Blu-Ray/2-CD set, a DVD/2-CD set, triple vinyl/DVD set and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Live at the Hollywood Bowl Track List:

Disc 1:

  1. The Revolution Will Be Televised
  2. Over Under Sideways Down
  3. Heart Full Of Soul
  4. For Your Love
  5. Beck’s Bolero
  6. Medley: Rice Pudding / Morning Dew
  7. Freeway Jam
  8. You Never Know
  9. Cause We’ve Ended As Lovers
  10. Star Cycle
  11. Blue Wind
  12. Big Block

Disc 2:

  1. I’d Rather Go Blind
  2. Let Me Love You
  3. Live In The Dark
  4. Scared For The Children
  5. Rough Boy
  6. Train Kept A-Rollin
  7. Shapes Of Things
  8. A Day In The Life
  9. Purple Rain

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts