The Breeders Release “All Nerve”

The Breeders: All NerveThe Breeders, fronted by former Pixies bassist Kim Deal, have returned with their first new album in a decade. All Nerve is also the return of the band’s classic Last Splash lineup with Deal on guitar and vocals, Jim Macpherson on drums, Kelley Deal on lead guitar and vocals, and Josephine Wiggs laying down the bass. Rallying the old members for a new project seemed shaky at first, but the band reforged their chemistry for the album.

“I think it was kind of slow-going in the start…[but] that’s one of the reasons why I like the title [All Nerve],” Wiggs told Billboard. “Because I think it’s kind of a nervy thing to do, after all this time, to do a record that in a way is kind of a follow-up record to ‘Last Splash.’ And we had no idea of how it was gonna turn out or whether people would like it, and in a way we were kind of just doing it for ourselves. That’s how I feel, anyway. I just wanted us to make as good a record as we could make that we all liked, that we all liked our parts that we were playing and that we would have fun playing live. And if everybody else likes it too, that’s just kind of a bonus in a way.”

Get a taste of the new album with “Nervous Mary”:

All Nerve is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

All Nerve Track List:

  1. Nervous Mary
  2. Walt In The Car
  3. All Nerve
  4. MetaGoth
  5. Spacewoman
  6. Walking with a Killer
  7. Howl at the Summit
  8. Archangel’s Thunderbird
  9. Dawn: Making an Effort
  10. Blues at the Acropolis

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts