the online magazine for bass players

Search Menu

Mud Morgenfield Releases “They Call Me Mud”

Mud Morganfield: They Call Me MudMud Morganfield has returned with a new album entitled They Call Me Mud. The son of blues icon Muddy Waters, Morganfield draws heavily on the Chicago blues sound while mixing in classic R&B.

“Certainly, there will be comparisons to his dad, but that can be expected and rightly so,” co-producer Rick Keher explains. “Mud comes as close to the Muddy experience as one can get. He will always pay tribute to his dad with the Chicago blues ensemble sound that Muddy created. But, Mud was also brought up musically in the ’70s and ’80s when soul, Motown, and R&B ruled the world. Mud played bass and performed with bands playing the hits of that era. This, along with his blues pedigree, has influenced Mud’s own songwriting skills, which are constantly evolving.”

Morganfield plays bass on three tracks, with E.G. McDaniel laying down the low end for the rest of the album. Check out the title track for a taste of the album:

They Call Me Mud is available on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

They Call Me Mud Track List:

  1. They Call Me Mud
  2. 48 Days
  3. Cheatin’ is Cheatin’
  4. Who’s Fooling Who?
  5. Howling Wolf
  6. 24 Hours
  7. Who Loves You
  8. Oh Yeah
  9. Can’t Get No Grindin’
  10. Rough Around The Edge
  11. Walkin’ Cane
  12. Mud’s Groove

Get the No Treble Daily Update in your inbox

Get the latest from No Treble in your inbox every morning.

Related topics: ,

Share your thoughts