Lamb of God Releases “Legion: XX” Under Burn The Priest Moniker

Burn the Priest: Legion: XXBefore Lamb of God, there was Burn the Priest. Lamb of God has gone back to their roots with a new album of covers under the band’s former name. Featuring songs written by bands like The Accused and Agnostic Front, Legion: XX has a decidedly punk slant. That’s in part because each of the members – including bassist John Campbell – were influenced by the sound of those bands.

“I have a radio show on Gimmie Radio, and [the station] is all metal shows except for mine,” singer Randy Blythe explains. “I do the punk rock show because I want to show the direct correlation between my band, and the punk scene going back to The MC5 and The Stooges. There is a direct link — look at old pictures of Metallica, Slayer and Anthrax, and they’re wearing Misfits, D.R.I., and C.O.C. t-shirts. They fused the technicality of metal with the intensity of punk rock. Before them, metal was like in slow motion. Speed metal bands were listening to Discharge. I beat that drum all the time when I talk to kids.”

For a taste of the album, check out their take on “I Against I” by Bad Brains:

Legion: XX is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Legion: XX Track List:

  1. Inherit The Earth (originally performed by The Accused)
  2. Honey Bucket (originally performed by Melvins)
  3. Kerosene (originally performed by Big Black)
  4. Kill Yourself (originally performed by S.O.D.)
  5. I Against I (originally performed by Bad Brains)
  6. Axis Rot (originally performed by Sliang Laos)
  7. Jesus Built My Hotrod (originally performed by Ministry)
  8. One Voice (originally performed by Agnostic Front)
  9. Dine Alone (originally performed by Quicksand)
  10. We Gotta Know (originally performed by Cro-Mags)

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts