Kamasi Washington Releases “Heaven and Earth” with Miles Mosley, Thundercat, and More

Kamasi Washington: Heaven and EarthSaxophone giant Kamasi Washington has returned with another massive album. Following The Epic and his Harmony of Difference EP, Heaven and Earth pushes the boundaries of jazz with huge soundscapes filled out by an orchestra and choir. Washington made it a double album based on perception.

“The Earth side represents the world as I see it outwardly, the world that I am a part of,” he wrote on Twitter. “The Heaven side represents the world as I see it inwardly, the world that is a part of me.”

It once again features members of the West Coast Get Down, a Los-Angeles-based collective that includes some of the city’s hottest talents, but there are plenty of guest spots as well. Longtime collaborator Miles Mosley is holding down the groove on much of the album with Stephen “Thundercat” Bruner, Carlos del Puerto, and Gabe Noel filling out the rest of the bottom end on upright and electric basses. Additionally, Dominic Thiroux provides the low end from the orchestra.

Check out the video for “Street Fighter Mas” featuring Mosley on bass:

Heaven and Earth is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Heaven and Earth Track List:


  1. Fists of Fury
  2. Can You Hear Him
  3. Hubtones
  4. Connections
  5. Tiffakonkae
  6. The Invincible Youth
  7. Testify
  8. One of One


  1. The Space Travelers Lullaby
  2. Vi Lua Vi Sol
  3. Street Fighter Mas
  4. Song for the Fallen
  5. Journey
  6. The Psalmnist
  7. Show Us the Way
  8. Will You Sing

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts