YOB Releases “Our Raw Heart”

YOB: Our Raw HeartDoom metal band YOB have always been about reflection and meditation, but their latest release is their deepest yet. Guitarist/vocalist Mike Scheidt spent months battling acute diverticulitis, a devastating intestinal disease, that almost cost him his life. During his recovery, he wrote Our Raw Heart.

“I had no idea, really, if the band was going to be able to continue – or how it would continue,” he told Rolling Stone. “The part about the writing that was different than any other album was there was no guarantee that I was going to live long enough to record the album – or maybe even long enough for my bandmates to hear it.”

Luckily for the rest of the world, Scheidt’s bandmates – drummer Travis Foster and bassist Aaron Rieseberg – help to deliver the crushing seven-song album. Rieseberg locks into the record’s sometimes menacing and sometimes contemplative riffs. Check out the title track:

Our Raw Heart is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3). YOB is currently on tour in support of the album.

Our Raw Heart Track List:

  1. Ablaze
  2. The Screen
  3. In Reverie
  4. Lungs Reach
  5. Beauty in Falling Leaves
  6. Original Face
  7. Our Raw Heart

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts