Sam Bevan Releases “Emergence”

Sam Bevan: EmergenceBassist Sam Bevan has released Emergence, an album of original modern jazz that draws from his time in the San Francisco Bay area. Bevan is based in New York City but spent 16 years in the Bay and used some of his friends from the area on the record.

“Drawing from jazz, gospel, Afro-Cuban and West African traditions, the songs are presented in a chord-less mini-big band format (in the style Gerry Mulligan’s and Jaco Pastorius’ big bands),” the album liner notes read. “There are elements of short melodic structures and free playing in the vein of Ornette Coleman, as well as, repetitive melodic hooks that develop and evolve through the pieces.”

Get a taste of Emergence with the opening track, “H&A”:

Emergence is available now as a digital download through Amazon, iTunes and Bandcamp.

Emergence Track List:

  1. H&A
  2. Old Cool
  3. Parallel Falcon
  4. Epicureans
  5. Wide and Awake
  6. Sleepless in Suresnes
  7. Grass
  8. Blues for CM
  9. Nellowee’s Waltz

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts