Derrick Hodge Anchors R+R=NOW’s Debut Album

R+R=NOW: Collagically SpeakingR+R=NOW is a new group featuring the monster talents of pianist Robert Glasper, keyboardist Terrace Martin, trumpeter Christian Scott aTunde Adjuah, beatboxer and synth player Taylor McFerrin, drummer Justin Tyson, and bassist Derrick Hodge. The collective gets their name from a Nina Simone quote, with the R+R standing for “Reflect and Respond”.

“[It is] an artist’s duty… to reflect the times,” Glasper states. “When you reflect what’s going on in your time and respond to that, you can’t not be relevant. So ‘R’ plus ‘R’ equals ‘NOW’.”

They’ve just released their debut album, Collagically Speaking, and it’s incredible. Each track blurs the lines of genres with Hodge laying down the perfect grooves to bring it all together. That’s cool enough, but it’s even more impressive when you know that every song was a first take.

“I love the first take because it’s the most honest take,” Glasper continues. “There’s something about the spirit of it. I don’t record until I’m ready and I don’t do extra takes just to do it—you burn out. We’d chill, watch some basketball, have some drinks, and hit record when the vibe was right.”

Hear the first single, “Change of Tone”:

Collagically Speaking is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Collagically Speaking Track List:

  1. Change Of Tone
  2. Awake To You
  3. By Design
  4. Resting Warrior
  5. Need You Still
  6. Colors In The Dark
  7. The Night In Question
  8. Reflect Reprise
  9. HER = NOW
  10. Respond
  11. Been On My Mind

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts