The Magpie Salute Releases Debut Album, “High Water I”

The Magpie Salute: High Water IAttention Black Crowes fans: guitarist Rich Robinson has released a new album with The Magpie Salute, a band that also features former Black Crowes members Marc Ford and bassist Sven Pipien.

The rest of the band is filled out by vocalist Josh Hogg, keyboardist Matt Slocum, and drummer Joe Magistro. Together they’ve been touring and performing covers, Black Crowes songs, and solo material. High Water I is their debut full-length album of original material.

“It’s the recontextualization of playing with one another,” Robinson says of the band. “When I was putting this thing together, I was thinking about how even though we may not have played for almost a decade, it just comes back immediately. The chemistry is unexplainable. Of course, I’m the same guy who played with the Black Crowes and wrote all of those songs, but this is a different context for myself, Marc, and Sven. It’s the convergence of three different worlds and eras for me. We’re all here together in this one place. Simultaneously, it’s amazing for Marc and Sven to play with Joe and Matt and John to be in the middle of it all. This is what I wanted to do.”

High Water I is also rounded out by Dan Wistrom on pedal steel and Byron House on the double bass. Hear Pipien and the band play “For the Wind” from the new album:

High Water I is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

High Water I Track List:

  1. Mary The Gypsy
  2. High Water
  3. Send Me An Omen
  4. For The Wind
  5. Sister Moon
  6. Color Blind
  7. Take It All
  8. Walk On Water
  9. Hand In Hand
  10. You Found Me
  11. Can You See
  12. Open Up

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts