Death Cab For Cutie Releases “Thank You For Today”

Death Cab For Cutie: Thank You For TodayDeath Cab For Cutie has released their ninth studio album, Thank You For Today. The album is a shift for the band as it is the first not to feature guitarist Chris Walla while being the first to feature touring members Dave Depper and Zac Rae. Like every other album, it is anchored by bassist Nick Harmer, who weighed in on the changes in an interview with Aesthetic Music.

“I think you learn a lot about people’s personalities and whether or not you’re going to gel with them while you’re kind of locked in a room together,” he said. “We were feeling very optimistic and hopeful that it was going to go well, but still hadn’t, you know, gone in to start making a record. It was just really invigorating and really inspiring to play music with Zac and Dave. They have lots of great ideas. They have great equipment! (laughs) They are just really good collaborators and good creative minds. It filled out our process in recording in a way that was really exciting. And I’m really happy that they’re permanent members of the band and this is who we get to make music with going forward. It’s exciting!”

Check out the music video for “Gold Rush”:

Thank You For Today is available now on CD, vinyl, audio cassette, and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Thank You For Today Track List:

  1. I Dreamt We Spoke Again
  2. Summer Years
  3. Gold Rush
  4. Your Hurricane
  5. When We Drive
  6. Autumn Love
  7. Northern Lights
  8. You Moved Away
  9. Near/Far
  10. 60 & Punk

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts