New Tord Gustavsen Trio Album Features Bassist Sigurd Hole

Tord Gustavsen Trio: The Other SideAfter working in different band formats for the past decade, jazz pianist Tord Gustavsen has gotten back to the piano trio format. The Other Side features his longtime drummer Jarle Vespestad as well Sigurd Hole, who joins the band for the first time. A bandleader himself, the Norwegian bassist fits right into the trio’s sound by drawing on folk influences and modern jazz.

Together the group builds “slowly-developing, deeply melodic pieces,” with originals by Gustavsen as well as three adaptations of J.S. Bach pieces. Get a load of their syrupy grooves in this album trailer:

The Other Side is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

The Other Side Track List:

  1. The Tunnel
  2. Kirken, Den Er Et Gammelt Hus
  3. Re-melt
  4. Duality
  5. Ingen Vinner Frem Til Den Evige Ro
  6. Taste and See
  7. Schlafes Bruder
  8. Jesu Meine Freude/Jesus, Det Eneste
  9. The Other Side
  10. O Traurigkeit
  11. Left Over Lullaby No. 4
  12. Curves

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts