Metal Allegiance Releases “Volume II: Power Drunk Majesty”

Metal Allegiance: Volume II: Power Drunk MajestyThe all-star project Metal Allegiance has just released their second album entitled Volume II: Power Drunk Majesty. The group is comprised of guitarist Alex Skolnick, drummer Mike Portnoy, and two bassists: Mark Menghi and David Ellefson. Even though each member is busy with their own bands, they come together as a unit to write and record with tons of special guests.

“We don’t just phone it in,” bassist and cofounder Ellefson explains. “These are real songs, written by real humans, in the same room. As complicated as it often makes our lives to do that, it’s a real band.”

Each of the cofounders contributed to the writing process, which “reflect the frustrating state of the world.” Menghi says, “It’s not a political record with a liberal or conservative agenda. It’s about what American society is becoming today and how much it sucks to be a pawn in the system.”

They called on nine guest vocalists to help express their music: Trevor Strnad, John Bush, Bobby Blitz, Mark Tornillo, Johan Hegg, Troy Sanders, Mark Osegueda, Floor Jansen, and Max Cavalera. Hear the Soulfly vocalist on “Voodoo of the Godsend”:

Metal Allegiance’s Volume II: Power Drunk Majesty is available now on CD, vinyl, cassette, and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Volume II: Power Drunk Majesty Track List:

  1. The Accuser (feat. Trevor Strnad)
  2. Bound by Silence (feat. John Bush)
  3. Mother of Sin (feat. Bobby Blitz)
  4. Terminal Illusion (feat. Mark Tornillo)
  5. King with a Paper Crown (feat. Johan Hegg)
  6. Voodoo of the Godsend (feat. Max Cavalera)
  7. Liars & Thieves (feat. Troy Sanders)
  8. Impulse Control (feat. Mark Osegueda)
  9. Power Drunk Majesty (Part I) (feat. Mark Osegueda)
  10. Power Drunk Majesty (Part II) (feat. Floor Jansen)

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts