Elvis Costello and the Imposters Release “Look Now”

Elvis Costello and the Imposters: Look NowElvis Costello and The Imposters have returned with a new album called Look Now. The 12-song release, which is his first recording with the band since 2008’s Momofuku, was conceived while on the road during his “Imperial Bedroom & Other Chambers” tour last year.

“I knew if we could make an album with the scope of ‘Imperial Bedroom’ and some of the beauty and emotion of ‘Painted From Memory’, we would really have something,” said Costello.

Part of the magic of the tour came from the band’s chemistry. Costello is joined by keyboardist Steve Nieve, drummer Pete Thomas, and bassist Davey Faragher, who was a member of Cracker before joining the Imposters in 2001. The bassist’s melodic sense matched with Thomas’s drumming brings extra motion to the album.

“When Pete and Davey are in this kind of rare form, it’s wise to get on the back-beat with your Telecaster and stay out of their way,” the singer stated.

Hear Faragher’s melodic bass style on the album opener, “Under Lime”:

Look Now is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Look Now Track List:

  1. Under Lime
  2. Don’t Look Now
  3. Burnt Sugar Is So Bitter
  4. Stripping Paper
  5. Unwanted Number
  6. I Let The Sun Go Down
  7. Mr. & Mrs. Hush
  8. Photographs Can Lie
  9. Dishonor The Stars
  10. Suspect My Tears
  11. Why Won’t Heaven Help Me?
  12. He’s Given Me Things

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts