Missy Raines Releases “Royal Traveller”

Missy Raines: Royal TravellerSeven-time International Bluegrass Music Awards Bass Player of the Year winner Missy Raines has just released a new album that reasserts why she is so renowned. Royal Traveller features eleven songs that span bluegrass, indie folk, and jam grass with a jazz influence.

The bassist and vocalist is joined by an incredible cast of guests including Tim O’Brien, Molly Tuttle, Sierra Hull, Amy Ray, Stuart Duncan, and more. The first single “Swept Away” showcases the powerful all-female lineup of guitarist Molly Tuttle, mandolinist Sierra Hull, fiddler Becky Buller, and banjoist Alison Brown.

Another fantastic track is the playful album closer, “Little Darlin’, Pal of Mine,” which is a bass and banjo duet from the Flatt and Scruggs era. Raines called upon fellow upright bassist Todd Phillips and Mike Bub to trade solos and generally have a good time.

Royal Traveller is available now on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Royal Traveller Track List:

  1. Allegheny Town
  2. Fearless Love
  3. Swept Away
  4. Royal Traveller
  5. Free World
  6. I’ve Endured
  7. Under a Dark Sky
  8. To Here from There
  9. Goodbye Virginia
  10. So Good
  11. Little Darlin’, Pal of Mine

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts