Blackberry Smoke Releases Acoustic EP, “The Southern Ground Sessions”

Blackberry Smoke: The Southern Ground SessionsSouthern rockers Blackberry Smoke have released a new acoustic album called The Southern Ground Sessions. Recorded at Southern Ground studios in Nashville, the six-song EP is described as a companion to their recent album Find A Light and features stripped back versions of songs from the LP. They also include an acoustic cover of the Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers song “You Got Lucky.”

Bassist Richard Turner rocks the whole album on an acoustic bass guitar. Hear him laying down the low end on the track “Medicate My Mind”:

The Southern Ground Sessions is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

The Southern Ground Sessions Track List:

  1. Run Away From It All
  2. Medicate My Mine
  3. Let Me Down Easy (feat. Amanda Shires)
  4. Best Seat in the House
  5. You Got Lucky (feat. Amanda Shires)
  6. Mother Mountain (feat. Oliver Wood)

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts