Evan Salvacion Levine Releases “Mestizo”

Evan Salvacion Levine: MestizoBassist Evan Salvacion Levine has released his sophomore effort as a leader, entitled Mestizo. The trio project, which also features guitarist Matt Gold and drummer Andrew Green, brings together seven original compositions that encompass his life in the past two years. That includes the Chicago-based musician’s cultural heritage that gives the album its title.

“Growing up with a Filipino mother and a Jewish father, the Jersey-native truly identifies with the term ‘Mestizo.’ Primarily used in Latin America and the Philippines to describe someone of mixed race, ‘Mestizo’ assumes its own identity and means more to those who embody it than the sum of its parts,” a press release explains. “Mestizo/Mestiza people have their own unique experiences, cultures, opinion, and appearances. With this term lending itself to the title of the album, the music heard on Mestizo perfectly mirrors Levine’s dynamic cultural background.”

Check out the trance-inducing groove and thoughtful upright solo on “Age II”:

Mestizo is available now as a digital download via Amazon MP3 and BandCamp.

Mestizo Track List:

  1. Age II
  2. Center of Gravity
  3. Highways
  4. Little Shells
  5. Mestizo
  6. Opposing Forces
  7. The Best Things Never Change

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts