The Decemberists Release New EP, “Traveling On”

The Decemberists: Traveling OnJust a few months after their latest studio album, The Decemberists have just released a new EP called Traveling On. The Portland-based indie rock band, which features bassist Nate Query, culled the five tracks from the sessions that produced I’ll Be Your Girl.

“This little bugger is a sharp twenty-one minutes of songs that were recorded during the ‘I’ll Be Your Girl’ sessions but never quite found a home on the album those sessions produced,” the band explains.

Traveling On covers a lot of territory in those twenty minutes, from the New Wave-ish “Down on the Knuckle” to the Beatles-esque “Midlist Author” to the folkier title track. Of course, Query finds the perfect tone and accompaniment for each song. Check out the latter song here:

Traveling On is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Traveling On Track List:

  1. Down On The Knuckle
  2. I Will Not Say Your Name
  3. Tripping Along (Full Band Version)
  4. Midlist Author
  5. Traveling On

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts