Reel Big Fish Returns with “Life Sucks… Let’s Dance”

Reel Big Fish: Life Sucks... Let's DanceSka band Reel Big Fish has returned with their eighth studio album, Life Sucks… Let’s Dance. While that title sounds a bit sarcastic, frontman Aaron Barrett says the album has a positive outlook thanks in part to recording in their home of Orange County, California.

“We started recording the album in January 2018 and really took our time with it. Our friend and engineer David Irish just finished building his new studio “Pot of Gold” in Orange, CA, and we loved how everything sounds there,” he explains. “There’s just really good energy and good vibes there, plus there’s a really adorable studio kitten named Iggy Fluff there, so we may have accidentally made a positive, happy record instead of a pissed off, hateful record, oops…well, there’s a little pissed off-ness in there and some sarcastic, funny lyrics as usual! Also, I just got married so there might be a few sappy love songs on the album too! Yuck!”

The band’s lineup has been ever-changing in the past with Barrett being the sole founding member left. Bassist Derek Gibbs, who joined up in 2007, once again drives the group’s grooves with bouncy bass lines. That shows in the album’s single, “You Can’t Have All of Me,” which Barrett calls a “danceable sing-along, catchy, hooky good old Reel Big Fish song.”

Life Sucks… Let’s Dance is available now on CD, and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Life Sucks… Let’s Dance Track List:

  1. Life Sucks… Let’s Dance!
  2. Pissed Off
  3. You Can’t Have All of Me
  4. In Love Again
  5. Tongue Tied and Tipsy Too
  6. Bleached Thang, Baby
  7. Another Beer Song
  8. Bob Marley’s Toe
  9. Ska Show
  10. The Good Old Days
  11. G.D. Beautiful Day
  12. I Should Know By Now
  13. I’d Rather Get It Wrong
  14. Walter’s Highlife

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts