Mavis Staples Releases “Live in London”

Mavis Staples: Live in LondonLegendary R&B and gospel singer Mavis Staples has just released a new album called Live in London. The release is taken from a performance at the London’s Union Chapel and comes just a few months before her 80th birthday.

“It’s kind of unbelievable to me that I’m still recording,” the “I’ll Take You There” singer says. “I never thought I would still be singing at my age, and people seem to really want to hear me, they know me, they give me love—I’m just overwhelmed, really. I thank God every night before I go to bed and then again every morning for waking up.”

Staples focuses on her material from the past 12 years since signing with ANTI- Records as well as a few cover songs, including “Can You Get To That” by Funkadelic and “Slippery People” by the Talking Heads. The entire evening is supported by bassist Jeff Turmes, who has been performing with the singer since early 2007.

Hear Turmes groove on “Slippery People”:

Live in London is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Live in London Track List:

  1. Love And Trust
  2. Who Told You That
  3. Slippery People
  4. What You Gonna Do (Intro)
  5. What You Gonna Do
  6. Take Us Back
  7. You Are Not Alone
  8. No Time For Cryin’
  9. Can You Get to That
  10. Let’s Do It Again
  11. Dedicated
  12. We’re Gonna Make It
  13. Encore: Happy Birthday (Encore)
  14. Touch A Hand

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts