John Illsley Releases “Coming Up For Air”

John Illsley: Coming Up For AirFormer Dire Straits bassist John Illsley is back with a new solo album entitled Coming Up For Air. Produced with Guy Fletcher and recorded in Mark Knopfler’s studio, the album has a distinct flavor of Illsley’s former band in addition to his unique voice.

The bassist also called on his band to record the album with Robbie McIntosh and Scot Mckeon on guitars, Steve Smith and Fletcher on keyboards, Stuart Ross on drums, Jodi Linscott on percussion, and Hannah Robinson, Jess Illsley, and Dee Dee Illsley on background vocals.

Check out the new track, “Old Amsterdam” for a taste of the record:

Coming Up For Air is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Coming Up for Air Track List:

  1. Old Amsterdam
  2. Double Time
  3. Coming Up For Air
  4. So It Goes 01
  5. When Things Go Right
  6. Wild One
  7. Picking up The Pieces

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts