Eddie Gomez Featured on Unearthed Bill Evans Trio Recording

Bill Evans Trio: Evans in EnglandFifty years after it was recorded, Resonance Records has unearthed yet another live album from the Bill Evans Trio. Evans in England features the jazz pianist with his longest-running trio filled out by drummer Marty Morrell and bassist Eddie Gomez live at Ronnie Scott’s in London in December 1969.

Gomez remembers getting the call to work with Evans. “Bill had been a huge hero of mine starting as a teenager,” he says in a mini-documentary. “I remember Helen Keane, Bill’s manager, came over to me and said, ‘Bill would like to say hi. Would you come over to the table?’ He was very gracious and complementary to me. He called a few weeks later and asked me to do a tour with him. Of course, I said yes. I was fortunate.”

Get the full scoop on the two-disc album in this video:

Evans in England is available now on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Evans in England Track List:

Disc 1:

  1. Our Love Is Here to Stay
  2. Sugar Plum
  3. Stella By Starlight
  4. My Foolish Heart
  5. Waltz for Debby
  6. Round Midnight
  7. The Two Lonely People
  8. Who Can I Turn To (When Nobody Needs Me)

Disc 2:

  1. Elsa
  2. What Are You Doing for The Rest of Your Life?
  3. Turn Out the Stars
  4. Re: Person I Knew
  5. Goodbye
  6. Come Rain or Come Shine
  7. Very Early
  8. So What
  9. Midnight Mood
  10. Polka Dots and Moonbeams

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts