Little Steven & The Disciples of Soul Release “Summer of Sorcery”

Little Steven and the Disciples: Summer of SorceryLittle Steven and the Disciples of Soul have released a new album called Summer of Sorcery. The release marks bandleader Steven Van Zandt’s first album of new material in 20 years and pays tribute to the feeling of the ’60s.

“With this record I really wanted to travel back to a time when life was exciting, when unlimited possibilities were there every day,” he says. “That was the feeling in the ‘60s, the thrill of the unexpected coming at you. Our minds were blown every single day, one amazing thing after another, constantly lifting you up. So you kind of walked around six inches off the ground all the time, there was something that kept you buoyant in your spirit. I wanted to try and capture that first and foremost.”

Bassist Jack Daley anchors the 14-member band. Currently, on a world tour with the group, Daley previously spent 15 years playing with Lenny Kravitz and has worked with other artists ranging from Beyonce to Iggy Pop.

Get a taste of the album with the track “Love Again”:

Summer of Sorcery is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Summer of Sorcery Track Listing:

  1. Communion
  2. Party Mambo!
  3. Love Again
  4. Vortex
  5. A World of Our Own
  6. Gravity
  7. Soul Power Twist
  8. Superfly Terraplane
  9. Education
  10. Suddenly You
  11. I Visit The Blues
  12. Summer of Sorcery

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts