Tank and the Bangas Release “Green Balloon”

Tank & The Bangas: Green BalloonAfter winning the contest to perform on NPR’s Tiny Desk Concert back in 2017, Tank & The Bangas have kept their momentum on a roll. They’ve just released a full-length album called Green Balloon that is sure to keep the ball rolling.

The album draws on many tastes and influences from the R&B world with some tracks calling on the vibes of Amy Winehouse, D’Angelo, Donny Hathaway, and more. The band members, including bassist Norman Spence, approach their songwriting from a place of feeling, calling themselves a “vibe-y band.”

“It’s like colors or something,” they write. “Everything we’re influenced by we don’t have a problem putting on a record because we don’t feel like we’re stuck in one lane.” Vocalist Tank Bel adds, “When we’re creating, we are creating. We never say: that sounded too blues-y, that sounded too country, that’s too hip-hop. It’s just that’s what this feels like, so let’s push that feeling to its completion, make it feel good.”

Check out Spence’s smooth grooves on “Ants”:

Green Balloon is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Green Balloon Track List:

  1. Colors Introduction
  2. Spaceships
  3. Dope Girl Magic
  4. Ants
  5. Hot Air Balloons ft. Alex Isley
  6. Forgetfullness
  7. Get Up Interlude feat. Robert Glasper
  8. Too High Prelude
  9. I Don’t Get High
  10. Happy Town feat. Pell
  11. Nice Things
  12. Smoke.Netflix.Chill
  13. Floating Interlude
  14. Mr. Lion
  15. In London Interlude feat. Robert Glasper
  16. Lazy Daze feat. Robert Glasper
  17. Colors Change

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts