Lisa Maxwell’s “Shiny!” Features Will Lee, Mark Egan, and David Finck

Lisa Maxwell: Shiny!Composer/arranger Lisa Maxwell has released an album of her own music and arrangements that serves as an all-star tribute to the late trumpeter Lew Soloff. Shiny! is a big band album that features a who’s who of musicians that all had a connection with him.

“My dear friend Lew Soloff and I talked about recording my arrangements many times over the years,” Maxwell said. “Then he died suddenly and I realized I had to stop thinking about it and get it done!”

The album includes top names in the jazz world (Randy Brecker, Mike Stern, Paul Shaffer, and more) with three incredible bassists: Will Lee, Mark Egan, and David Finck.

“Everybody wanted to be on board for this,” says Lee, “and the result is a gorgeous finished product!” Each track features electric bass with the exception of Finck’s double bass on “Israel.”

Shiny! is available now on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Shiny! Track List:

  1. Shiny!
  2. Son of Creeper
  3. Ludie
  4. We’ll be together again
  5. Hello, Wayne?
  6. Beauty and the Beast
  7. Israel
  8. The Craw
  9. Shiny! Remix

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts