Jay Anderson Returns to Band Leader on “Deepscape”

Jay Anderson: DeepscapeJazz bassist Jay Anderson has anchored over 400 recordings for artists ranging from Michael Brecker to Ira Sullivan to Dave Liebman. He released his first albums as a leader in the early ’90s, but now he’s stepping out front again with a new album entitled Deepscape.

Anderson tapped saxophonist Billy Drewes, cornetist Kirk Knuffe, drummer Matt Wilson, and percussionist Rogerio Boccato for the recording. Five of the tracks showcase the bassist leading a chordless quartet or quintet, although pianist Frank Kimbrough appears on several tracks playing the harmonium. He also has a pair of intimate and thoughtful solo bass songs with the opening title track as well as a version of the Billy Joel song “And So It Goes.”

Hear one of the larger ensemble tracks with the Keith Jarrett tune “Shades of Jazz”:

Deepscape is available now on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Deepscape Track List:

  1. Deepscape
  2. Shades of Jazz
  3. Rothko Chapel (5th Movement)
  4. Southern Smiles
  5. And So It Goes
  6. Time of the Barracudas
  7. Sweet and Lovely
  8. Momentum
  9. Witchi-Tai-To
  10. The Mighty Sword
  11. Tennessee Waltz

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts