Doug Johns Releases “Doug’s Party Mix”

Doug Johns: Doug's Party MixOn his sixth solo release, bass monster Doug Johns throws down the gauntlet. Doug’s Party Mix is a hard-hitting collection of grooves that will give you a serious case of bass face.

“I’m pretty sure you’re gonna scrunch up your funk face while listening to Doug’s Party Mix,” the bassist writes. “It’s a healthy dose of gritty blues, melodic finger funk, and that in-your-face horn section. It has the groove covered.”

Johns delivers on his promise starting with the very first track, “Blues Mfr,” which is a blues-centered around a bass line filled out with gnarly double stops. Most of the album keeps an upbeat, danceable feel while “Jacquelyn” slows things down for a beautiful ballad. And if you’re looking for the next Everest to climb in your own playing, take a shot at learning “Just Play.”

Check out the album’s sound with “Blues Mfr”:

Doug’s Party Mix is available now on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Doug’s Party Mix Track List:

  1. Blues Mfr
  2. Extra Hour
  3. A Tall Order
  4. Jacquelyn
  5. Just Play
  6. DC Blues
  7. Fed Up
  8. In The Loop

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts