The Violent Femmes Return with “Hotel Last Resort”

The Violent Femmes: Hotel Last ResortSince their reunion and 2016’s We Can Do Anything, The Violent Femmes have been on a roll. Now they’re continuing that momentum with a new album called Hotel Last Resort. In fact, bassist Brian Ritchie says it’s their best work in 25 years.

“I think it’s probably the best one we’ve made since [1984’s] Hallowed Ground,” he told Rolling Stone. “Which is a long time. It’s just a very focused album, the songs all hold together. It’s a classic album, in the sense that people should actually sit down and listen to the whole thing. It’s not too long. It’s short, it’s punchy, it’s solid, it’s to the point, goes a few different directions but it always comes back to the core approach and then it’s over. Hopefully you’ll think ‘I want to hear that again.’”

As always, Ritchie is rocking his oversized acoustic bass guitar to deliver his signature growl. Get a taste of the new album with this video for “I’m Nothing,” featuring Stefan Janoski:

Hotel Last Resort is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Hotel Last Resort Track List:

  1. Another Chorus
  2. I Get What I Want
  3. I’m Nothing (feat. Stefan Janoski)
  4. Adam Was a Man
  5. Not OK
  6. Hotel Last Resort (feat. Tom Verlaine)
  7. Everlasting You
  8. It’s All or Nothing
  9. I’m Not Gonna Cry
  10. This Free Ride
  11. Paris To Sleep
  12. Sleepin’ at the Meetin’
  13. God Bless America

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts