Ben Wolfe Releases “Fatherhood”

Ben Wolfe: FatherhoodJazz bassist and composer Ben Wolfe has released a new album called Fatherhood, which pays homage to his father, Dan Wolfe, who passed away in 2018.

“He introduced me to jazz. He loved Monk. He loved Lester Young and Billie Holiday. And he taught me a lot about music… he was not into showing off or playing extra notes for no apparent reason,” Wolfe explains. “I made this record in ways I knew my father would have encouraged. Even the way I’m playing on the record: not a lot of bass solos, just trying to play with a good feeling and a good sound. This record is about the overall sound of the ensemble.”

That shows on the ten song collection, which is comprised of nine originals and one jazz standard. Wolfe also utilized strings on seven of the tracks to augment the tonal palette. Check out the album opener, “Blind Seven”:

Fatherhood is available now on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Fatherhood Track List:

  1. Blind Seven
  2. Gone Now
  3. Opener
  4. Uncle Leslie
  5. The Enforcer
  6. It’s True
  7. The Kora La
  8. First Things First
  9. Edged
  10. What’s New

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts