The Darkness Returns with “Easter is Cancelled”

The Darkness: Easter is CancelledThe Darkness has returned with a new concept album called Easter Is Cancelled. The record “examines the role of the musician in the barbarous culture of the world today, and their almost divine responsibility to challenge the establishment – something that most rock and roll artists seem to have given up on in favor of easy celebrity.”

That’s summed up in the opening track, “Rock and Roll Deserves to Die,” which features bassist Frankie Poullain riding the low notes on his Thunderbird.

“[‘Rock and Roll Deserves to Die’] is a journey, it becomes a very heavy kind of punk with an AC/DC-esque outro and finishes with a joke really,” bassist Frankie Poullain told Walls of Sound. “It just really ticks quite a few things that make a lot of ‘The Darkness’ in one song.”

Easter is Cancelled is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Easter is Cancelled Track List:

  1. Rock and Roll Deserves to Die
  2. How Can I Lose Your Love
  3. Live ‘Til I Die
  4. Heart Explodes
  5. Deck Chair
  6. Easter is Cancelled
  7. Heavy Metal Lover
  8. In Another Life
  9. Choke on It
  10. We Are the Guitar Men

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts