Kim Gordon Releases Debut Solo Album, “No Home Record”

Kim Gordon: No Home RecordIt’s been eight years since Sonic Youth called it quits, but that hasn’t stopped Kim Gordon’s art. The bassist has just released a solo album, entitled No Home Record, which is the first in her nearly four-decade career.

“It just happened. I met Justin [Raisen, the producer] a couple of years ago,” Gordon told GQ about the record’s creation. “I was staying in an Airbnb. I guess it was after I finished my book, I hadn’t moved into my house yet. Anyway, he asked me to sing on this other project, and he took leftover stuff and made a loop out of it with a cool drum beat, sort of trashy and punky sounding. That became ‘Murdered Out.’ He was like, if you ever want to do a solo record or whatever, we should do more. It just kind of happened gradually.”

Raisen, who has also worked with Charli XCX and Sky Ferreira, joined Gordon in playing bass on the record as well as Jake Meginsky. Gordon also performed the drum machine, guitar, and vocals on the album.

Check out the album with the track “Air BnB”:

No Home Record is available now on CD, vinyl, cassette, and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

No Home Record Track List:

  1. Sketch Artist
  2. Air BnB
  3. Paprika Pony
  4. Murdered Out
  5. Don’t Play It
  6. Cookie Butter
  7. Hungry Baby
  8. Earthquake
  9. Get Yr Life Back

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts