Kneebody Releases “Chapters” With New Lineup

Kneebody: ChaptersKneebody has returned with a new album called Chapters, which marks a new era for the band. It’s the first release since the announcement that bassist Kaveh Rastegar would be stepping out of the group. Now Nate Wood is handling the bass and drums at the same time, although they brought Rastegar to perform on several tracks.

“The title references the episodic nature of life and the way our personal stories begin to form a narrative as we accumulate more time on the planet,” says trumpeter Shane Endsley. “Kneebody feels like a family. We came together as young people and have spent all these years growing together. We have our personal chapters and we have our chapters as a band, and they all intertwine. Sometimes we have to look back to realize what a given chapter was about and sometimes it can be noted in the present. At this time, Kneebody is clearly entering a new period and this album illustrates the passage.”

Chapters is also filled out with some top-notch guest artists: Michael Mayo, Becca Stevens, Josh Dion, Gerald Clayton, and Gretchen Parlato. Get a taste of Wood’s double duty paired with Parlato’s heavenly vocals on “When It All Comes Down”:

Chapters is available now on CD, vinyl and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Chapters Track List:

  1. Spectra
  2. What’s My Name feat. Michael Mayo
  3. A Seaworthy Native
  4. Wounds Let in the Light feat. Becca Stevens
  5. Chapters
  6. Hearts Won’t Break feat. Josh Dion
  7. Ombré
  8. The Trip feat. Gerald Clayton
  9. When It All Comes Down feat. Gretchen Parlato
  10. The Non-Profit Prince of Lexington

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts