Virgil Donati Returns with “Ruination”

Virgil Donati: RuinationDrum master Virgil Donati has released a new album called Ruination. As with all of his work, it’s filled with unreal musicianship that blurs the lines of fusion and progressive music. Of course, that means he got some of the best musicians in the world to help make his music come to life.

“I’ve had the fortune to work with some outstanding talent for this record, and this is a testament to the incredible musicians who were able to pull off the challenging playing I was demanding of them,” Donati says.

The lineup includes his most recent touring band with guitarist Andre Nieri, keyboardist Chris Clark, and bassist Junior Braguinha. Other bassists on the album include Anton Davidyants and Evan Marien. You can see their work and the album’s creation in this mini-documentary put together by Donati:

Ruination is available now on CD and as a digital download (iTunes and Amazon MP3).

Ruination Track List:

  1. Castle Bastards
  2. Back to Me
  3. Ruination
  4. The Crack
  5. Eleven Pt. 2
  6. The Quiet Place
  7. The Last Night That I Lived
  8. Time Is a Lie
  9. Pinprick
  10. Out of the Dirt
  11. If There Were None

Get daily bass updates.

Get the latest news, videos, lessons, and more in your inbox every morning.

Share your thoughts